Tracking the Best: WIU-QC Academic Advisor Wheeler Recognized for Coaching in Iowa

Kenny and Jane Wheeler

Kenny and Jane Wheeler

Last year, Kenny Wheeler was in the spotlight for his outstanding work at Western Illinois University. In April 2015, Kenny was named the COAA (Council of Academic Advisors) Advisor of the Month.

Later that same month, he provided a bit of background about himself and his passions (at work and outside of it) in that month’s Council of Administrative Personnel Employee Spotlight.

“My two favorite activities outside of my job are spending time with my family and coaching track and field. My wife and my two daughters are some of the greatest blessings God has granted me with, and coming home to see them after work is the most rewarding part of the dayโ€ฆespecially after a tough day in the office,” he explained in the COAP Employee Spotlight Q&A. “I am also in my 15th year of coaching track and field at the college and high school levels, and am now in my eighth season coaching girls track and field at a large high school in Iowa. I love motivating the young individuals I coach in a sport that I participated in through college and has been a part of my life since grade school.” (See Kenny’s full interview at wiurelations.wordpress.com/2015/04/29/coap-spotlight-wheeler/.)

This year, Kenny is, once again, being recognized publicly for his work… this time in conjunction with his wife, Jane.

Kenny and Jane were recently named The Des Moines Register’s All-Iowa Girls’ Track Coaches of the Year.

“The husband-and-wife team led Pleasant Valley to a Class 4A state runner-up finish this spring,” notes John Naughton, in “All-Iowa girls’ track: Wheelers a potent Pleasant Valley coaching duo. “Jane and Kenny Wheeler have shared head coaching duties since 2012 and developed one of the state’s top programs,” he added.

Congratulations, Kenny and Jane!

#WIUPride

(Read the entire article at www.desmoinesregister.com/story/sports/high-school/all-iowa/2016/05/24/all-iowa-girls-track-wheelers-potent-pleasant-valley-coaching-duo/84782920/.)

Leave a Reply

